My first foray into the world of blogging…

Cherry

My blogging cherry

Okay… this is it… I’ve been a regular on other blogs, I’ve seen people writing about what ires them, what motivates them, what makes them happy/sad etc and I’ve decided that I want a bite of the cherry.

The problem is; what to write?  Do I really want to expose my thoughts and feelings to the great unwashed (conscience: calling people ‘the great unwashed’ probably won’t help our cause!) and if I do, how do I go about making it individual and not merely a mirror of other great blogs that I visit and draw inspiration from?

The next thing, then, is perhaps to set out my stall from the very beginning.   I neither expect nor desire huge numbers of visitors (ego: a couple would be nice, though) and I don’t think this blog will last long – it’ll probably be consigned to the bin marked, “Tried It, Didn’t Have Time For It” or something similar.

Anywho – this is probably the first and last post I’ll be making here, but at least I can say I’ve tried it out. 😉

8 Responses to “My first foray into the world of blogging…”

  1. uphilldowndale Says:

    Have fun with your blog, it can be a very addictive pass time. I hadn’t a clue what I was going to write when I started, still don’t most days. I’d no idea that the photos would become such a big part of it. But what ever it is you write/photograph, it has to come from the heart.

    • kkop Says:

      Thanks for your comments, Mrs Uhdd! Means a lot to me that someone has taken the time to write back. 🙂

      I have absolutely no idea what to write about really, as it was more curiosity that led me to creating a blog than the burning desire to have an outlet for my inner voice. Besides, I can use yours and IG’s blogs for that. 😉

      This will, no doubt, fade away quickly but at least I can say I’ve given it a try.

      Give Spud a headrub from me! 🙂

  2. Crime Analyst Says:

    Welcome to blogging, hope you get some fun out of it!

    Just picked you up on Duty Sgt’s blog… Always loads of good banter on the the job sites. Good to see you’ve got the hang of it so quickly.

    Thanks for the comment on Duty by the way.. I do have my own blog at http://thinbluelineuk.blogspot.com You’re welcome any time. I tried wordpress first, it’s great but as I’m no techie, blogger was easier for me. Having started one, I’ve now got 5 of the buggers, as I ended up creating ones for business aswell.

    Have fun, they’re great for letting off steam! Like the cherry by the way.

    Kind Regards

    Steve

    • kkop Says:

      Thanks Steve – to be honest I’d forgotten about the blog for the most part and certainly haven’t made any attempts to advertise it; I had to put a web site address in to be able to post my comment on Duty Sgt’s blog. Just realised, my comment about you ‘getting a blog’ may have come across as flippant – didn’t mean it to be! Will pop by your site when I get the time and say hello!

      As for blogging itself, well, it’s a bit of a funny beast. Most of the time I’m happy to just comment on IG’s blog, but sometimes I spot a news article that I feel could be discussed, I guess I just haven’t bothered sticking anything here as I know I’ll never gain anywhere near the popularity that blogs like IG’s get. Plus, there seems to be a million and one dejected coppers talking about how bad work is etc that I don’t think there’s a need for another one, so until the desire to talk about a particular subject grips me, this will always remain a ‘test’ site, I guess.

      Nevertheless, thanks very much for dropping by and commenting. Perhaps it’ll be enough to jolt me into action. 😉

      Regards,

      kKop

  3. Crime Analyst Says:

    Thaks for that, whether on here or others pages, I’ll look out for your comments.

    As background, I’m ex of the west mids, having managed 10 years, first in uniform then as a “D” I was tempted away by the business world. Still have mates in the job even now. Strange though, the friendships that have really stood the test of time have been with those still on or close to the front line of the job. My old ‘mates’ who have risen high up the SMT ranks don’t seem to have any friends left… Wonder why that is?

    Kidding of course, I’m sure that despite all the shit, there must still be some decent gaffers left.

    Personally, I think the more bloggers there are across the justice system, police, CPS, prisons, judiciary, that all send out similar messages raising awareness and revealing the flaws, the better chance there is of someone getting off their arse in Westminster & ACPO and doing something about it.

    I’ve been collating the material (kept anonymous of course) and banging reports in left right and centre on the topics that seem to piss you guys off the most. We’ve now got a few eyes from Westminster following our pages (and presumably IG, Bloggsy, 200 etc) and we’ve had supportive e mails from a number of the shadow cabinet, so it might actually be worthwhile in the end.

    All the best

    Steve

  4. inspectorgadget Says:

    Nice to see you with a Blog. I will stick a link up asap.

    • kkop Says:

      Thanks IG!! Thought I’d give it a go – mindful of the fact that I am spending more and more time commenting on the threads in your blog, so I thought I’d give it a go myself and see where it leads. 🙂

  5. dungbeetle Says:

    Congrats on starting a Blog, be yourself. Just like in your farce, you have so many variables. The blog is about the only place that you do not have to toe the party line, as pointed out, those in decision making nests would really like to see the world as it is, but the world of organizations by its very nature, is an organization that are staffed by yes men, for very few have self security or the will to have near them, other shades of thinking.
    [birds of a feature syndrome], so by exposing some of weaknesses of human endeavors , those areas where an action causes ‘unthought’ of consequences.
    So good luck.

Leave a Reply

